Karnataka elections 2018: From driving Sushma Swaraj around to becoming bjp driving force


Sriramulu Used To Drive Sushma Swaraj Car In 1999 ls Polls Now Takes on Siddaramaiah

The main opposition parties for the forthcoming assembly elections in India's southern state of Karnataka continue to be roaring in the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress. Both parties are full of power in the election campaign. The current Chief Minister of Karnataka and the Chief Ministerial candidate of the Congress, Siddaramaiah is contesting from two assembly seats, leaving his old seat. Siddaramaiah has filed nomination from Chamundeswari constituency and Badami constituency. From Badami constituency, they face BJP from Sriramulu. Sriramulu is known as Karnataka's richest politicians and is close to mining businessman Janardan Reddy. It is also discussed that if BJP comes to power, they can get the Deputy Chief Minister's chair.

Sriramulu is the biggest leader of Dalits

Sriramulu is considered to be the biggest leader of Dalits and tribals. BJP too has many expectations from them. After Yeddyurappa, he is also among the party's biggest faces. Like Siddaramaiah, Sriramulu is also contesting from two seats. Apart from Badami, he is also trying his luck from Malkamuru seat.

Interesting Entry in Politics

During the 1999 Lok Sabha elections, when senior BJP leader Sushma Swaraj was contesting from Bellary, Sriramulu was seen driving her car several times. Gradually he gained the party's trust and took an entry into the party. In the assembly elections held in 1999, the BJP gave him ticket from the Bellary assembly seat and he won.

BJP had left in 2011

After becoming MLA from BJP in 1999, Sriramulu did not look back. In 2008, he was inducted into the government and made the energy minister. Although in 2011, he quit BJP but in 2013, after winning an independent election from Bellary, the new party formed the new BSR Congress. Before the Lok Sabha elections in 2014, the BJP came back. The BJP gave him a ticket from Bellary to the MP.

Karnataka Assembly seat number -23 Badami assembly constituency falls under the Bagalkot Lok Sabha constituency. Badami was first known as Watapi. From 540 to 757, the Badami was the capital of the Chalukya dynasty. Presently, Congress MLA and legendary leader, Chimmanti Balappa, Bhimappa is in control. In the Karnataka assembly elections 2013, Bhimappa defeated the candidate of Janata Dal (Secular), Mahantesh Gurupadappa Mammadpur with 15,113 votes and captured this seat. Earlier, he had won this seat in the 1994 and 1999 assembly elections, but in 2004 and 2008, he had to suffer twice over the hands of the BJP's Mahagundpa Kalappa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *