J-K Civic Body Polls Live Update First Phase Voting Today

J-K Civic Body Polls

J-K body elections LIVE: Long queues of voters despite threatening ex-boycott of terrorists

Between the threat of terrorists and the baton of some political parties, today (Monday) is being voted for the first phase of local body elections in Jammu and Kashmir. Voting has started from 7 am onwards. Given the voting, security has been increased in the state. In the first phase, voting is being done in 11 districts.

Big updates –

09.00 AM: Some voters on the Bemina booth of Srinagar refused to take photographs to the photo journalist.

08.45 AM: In the first one hour, total 48 votes casted in 17 wards of Bandipora.

In districts where voting is going on Monday, Anantnag (4 wards), Badgam (1 ward), Bandipora (16 wards), Baramulla (15 wards), Jammu (153 wards), Kargil (13 wards), Kupwara (18 wards) ), Leh (13 wards), Poonch (26 wards), Rajouri (59 wards), Srinagar (3 wards).

Due to non-availability of National Conference and PDP candidates in several seats, Bharatiya Janata Party’s candidates have already won.


j-k Civic Body Polls elections

In view of the voting, mobile internet shut down in South Kashmir, while in other areas the Internet limited to 2G.

Mirwaiz Umar Farooq, leader of the Hurriyat Conference,detained after seeing no problem during voting. He himself tweeted its information. Not just Mirwaiz but also Yasin Malik and Syed Ali Shah GeelaniĀ  detained.

Earlier on Sunday, the security forces had conducted a search operation around the voting area. The search operation conducted in six villages on behalf of the security forces.

Significantly, the elections of local bodies in Jammu and Kashmir held in four phases. After the 8th October, the second phase held on October 10, the third phase of voting held on October 13 and the final phase held on October 16.

Counting of votes will take place on October 20. According to the state election officer, there are 1,283 candidates for the total 422 wards in the first phase. These include 1010 in Jammu, 207 in Kashmir, 66 in Ladakh and 66 candidates.

A total of 2,990 candidates are in the fray for the four phases elections. So far, about 244 candidates elected unopposed, most of whom are from the Kashmir Valley. The main parties’ main parties, the National Conference and the PDP boycotted these elections. These parties are opposing the challenge of Article 35-A of the Constitution in the Supreme Court.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *